Uncategorized

단팥빵 Sweet Red Bean Paste Bread

This weekend I wanted to try baking a Korean bread since my mom usually enjoys eating Korean bread rather than American bread. She was craving the sweet, soft taste of sweet red beans, so I decided to make 단팥빵 (sweet red bean paste bread).

Though this was very fun to make, it was a bit time consuming! I don’t have a bread machine so I needed to knead the dough myself. I also decided to make my own sweet red bean paste, because it would take too long to stop by the Korean Mart 😛

I hope that this post encourages you to bake, use your other skills, or explore new skills to encourage or bless others 🙂 and always remember that while you’re performing your skills, that it is to glorify God in some way or the other (whether it’s directly glorifying him or His kingdom) 

I distributed the 단팥빵 to my family, my friends, and my roommates and all of them enjoyed it very much! 

It brings me so much joy that they enjoyed it 🙂 I pray that God will continue to use my every skills/talents to bless others! 

Anyways, here are the two original recipes that I used:
For the bread: http://www.aeriskitchen.com/2012/01/sweet-red-bean-bbang/

For the Red Bean Paste: http://www.japanesecooking101.com/anko          (I tripled the recipe for the paste because I had a lot of beans, but I think doubling the recipe is enough for the amount of bread) 

Recipe for the Bread: (makes 16 bread)

  • 3 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 cup red bean paste
  • 2/3 cup lukewarm water 
  • 2/3 cup lukewarm milk
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 2 tsp Fast Active Dry Yeast
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • Sesame seeds for garnish 
  • Melted butter for brushing
  1. Place 3 1/2 cups of flour into big mixing bowl, make three holes in the flour, then put 1/4 cup sugar, 2 tsp yeast, and 1 1/2 tsp salt in each hole. Gently cover the holes with the flour
  2. Pour 2/3 cup of lukewarm water and 2/3 cup lukewarm milk in flour mix. Mix together with hands
  3. Pour 1/4 cup melted butter into dough, and knead the dough for about 30 minutes (if you have a bread machine, let is mix the ingredients and knead the dough)
  4. When the dough becomes smooth and elastic, it is done.
  5. Loosely cover the bowl with plastic wrap and set in warm place for 40 minutes
  6. Meanwhile collect the red bean paste, divide into 16 round balls of paste
  7. When dough has risen to a nice big size, take the dough out and then press down the center to remove air out of dough
  8. Divide dough into 16 pieces, make a round ball of each piece
  9. Flatten the dough and place red bean ball in center
  10. Fold the dough up so that the red bean paste is covered
  11. Put sealed part face down and press dough down
  12. Optional: cut decorative slits around edges, add sesame seeds for garnish
  13. Place dough on cooking sheet land set it aside to rise for 15 minutes. Preheat oven to 350
  14. Bake for 20 minutes
  15. Done! 

Leave a Reply

